Murray-Darling Basin Plan

Murray-Darling Basin Plan

Published: 21 June, 2021

The Murray–Darling Basin is the largest and most complex river system in Australia. Covering one million square kilometres of south-eastern Australia, across South Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria and the Australian Capital Territory.

2020 marked the 10th consecutive year of continuous flows to the Coorong since the Millennium Drought broke in 2010. South Australians understand the incredible importance of the Murray River to our way of life. 

We live in the driest state in the driest inhabited continent in the world. The River Murray is the life-blood of the state, providing essential water for irrigation, industry, domestic and recreational use and our precious wetlands and floodplains. 

It is imperative that South Australia continues to work closely with all basin states and the Australian Government to jointly manage the Murray-Darling river system. To ensure the entire river system is managed sustainably into the future, the Basin Plan was developed and agreed to by all basin states. I remain committed to doing all I can in my capacity as the Member for Sturt to ensure that the aim of the Murray–Darling Basin Plan is realised, to bring the Basin back to a healthier and sustainable level, while continuing to support farming and other industries for the benefit of the Australian community.

I am committed to ensuring South Australia’s interests are always front of mind in Canberra. 

Click here to find out more.