James Stevens

Meet James Stevens

Member for Sturt in the House of Representatives

A former Chief of Staff to Premier Steven Marshall, James Stevens has taken over as the party’s representative in Sturt from outgoing Defence Minister the Hon Christopher Pyne MP.

James is an experienced and driven South Australian leader with a strong connection to the electorate of Sturt and its many communities.

He has had a distinguished professional career both in politics and privately, holding positions of Commercial Manager and General Manager for Michell Wool, which will hold him in good stead as a local member.

Get in touch

Sturt Electorate

The South Australian electorate of Sturt was named in honour of Captain Charles Sturt, 1795 - 1869, who is best known in South Australia for his trek from Sydney to Adelaide to further map inland Australia. Captain Sturt conducted several journeys of exploration, served for a period as commandant of the garrison on Norfolk Island and served in the South Australia public service.

The electorate of Sturt includes the South Australian eastern suburbs of Athelstone, Auldana, Beaumont, Beulah Park, Burnside, Campbelltown, College Park, Dernancourt, Dulwich, Erindale, Evandale, Felixstow, Firle, Frewville, Gilles Plains, Glen Osmond, Glenside, Glenunga, Glynde, Hackney, Hazelwood Park, Heathpool, Hectorville, Highbury, Hillcrest, Holden Hill, Joslin, Kensington, Kensington Gardens, Kensington Park, Kent Town, Klemzig, Leabrook, Linden Park, Magill, Marden, Marryatville, Maylands, Mount Osmond, Myrtle Bank, Newton, Norwood, Oakden, Paradise, Payneham, Payneham South, Rose Park, Rosslyn Park, Rostrevor, Royston Park, Skye, St Georges, St Morris, St Peters, Stepney, Stonyfell, Toorak Gardens, Tranmere, Trinity Gardens, Tusmore, Waterfall Gully, Wattle Park, Windsor Gardens and Woodforde.

View Map of Electorate